Healthy Eating

Healthy eating is about balance, moderation, variety and consistency. Gradually make lifestyle changes that you can maintain over the long term.

Quick weight loss and fad diets do not work. Any diet that eliminates entire food groups can leave you missing out on essential nutrients that are vital for good health. So skip the fad diets that leave you feeling tired & hungry and instead focus on making better food choices that nourish your body.  

To see a variety of healthy meal suggestions for breakfast, lunch and dinner, see the Eat for Health website.

The Food Switch App is a great tool which allows you to scan the food products you usually buy, and find healthier alternatives. 

If you have any food intolerances or food allergies, a GP or dietitian can help you with a meal plan which suits your needs,  click here to find a service in your area

Portion sizes

  • Check your portion sizes: a healthy dinner plate should be made up of:
    • ¼ of the plate as low GI carbohydrates
    • ¼ of the plate should be lean meat, poultry, fish, eggs or alternatives
    • ½ plate should be vegetables
  • Use smaller plates and bowls to help you reduce your portion sizes
  • Fill up on nutritious, low energy non- starchy vegetables if you need to go back for seconds

Fruit serves

For more information about fruit, see this link


Vegetable serves

For more information about vegetables, see this link



There seems to be a new diet out each and every week with information that can be contradictory and confusing.

To achieve and maintain a healthy weight, we need to be physically active and choose nutritious food and drinks in the right amounts to meet your energy needs. We have included some guidelines to help you achieve balanced eating habits.


guide to healthy eating

Tips for healthy food choices:

  • Enjoy a wide variety of nutritious foods everyday from the five food groups: vegetables, fruits, grains, lean meats and poultry, and reduced fat dairy products.

  • Limit your intake of foods containing saturated fat, added salt and added sugars: such as cakes, biscuits, pastries, processed meats, and fried foods.

  • Choose the right fats: replace saturated fats such as butter and cream with mono- and polyunsaturated fats such as olive oil and avocado.

  • Limit intake of foods and drinks containing added salt: use herbs and spices to flavour food instead of salt.

  • Limit intake of foods and drinks containing added sugars: such as chocolate, soft drinks, and sugar-sweetened cereals.

  • Drink plenty of water: swap sugary soft drinks and juices for water.

  • If you choose to drink alcohol, limit your intake: aim to have two alcohol free days each week, and drink in moderation.

  • Eat regularly: aim to have a regular eating pattern, and try not to skip breakfast.

  • Be prepared: freeze leftovers and plans meals ahead of time.

For more information visit Eat for Health

An accredited practicing dietitian can provide you with individualised advice - click here to find a dietitian