Community Health Services

Accessing Community Health Services

Community Health Services are provided by the Local Health District which are designed to improve or maintain the health and wellbeing of individuals and communities.

Community Health provides 3 main services:

  • Community Health Nursing (CHN) is provided to people of all ages across South West Sydney Local Health District. Services operate seven days a week, with opening times varying at each centre.  Services provided include:
    • Post Acute Care 
      Where care is provided as an alternative to hospitalisation or to reduce a patient's length of stay in hospital
    • General Nursing
      Refers to sub acute and chronic care interventions
    • Palliative Care Nursing
      Refers to services for people who have a life limiting illness and require support for them to remain at home during their palliative phase.